SS20 COLLECTION REVIEW DAY 3: ATAFO | HOUSE OF KAYA

Lagos Fashion Week held from 23rd Oct – 26th Oct and it was really amazing, from the runway to the streetstyle and exhibition stands.

This year I went as a photographer to capture some of my best moments/streetstyle moments and I think it was worth it.

I’ll be sharing a collection review of all my favorite collections from day 1 through day 3. So I decided to combine my favorite looks from my collections for each day together with the exception of day 1 and Andrea Iyamah (which is meant to be here). Enjoy!

ATAFO

Ayyy! If I don’t talk about Mai Atafo then this collection review is all for naught fam. You all know how psyched and hyped I always am when it comes to Mai Atafo and day 3 was no exception.

First of all, Atafo opened for the last day of runway show and damn the theatrics and drama was all worth the push and shove I got at the entrance (insert eye roll).

The brand through the creative director made a visual announcement by introducing the new word in fashion: ATAFO!

The collection that followed after this announcement showed its transition to just one word, ATAFO.

He presented three collections: A Bespoke collection featuring suits in vibrant colors and satin (I think).

Highschool Nostalgia features the gingham check fabric that is quite prominent in schools especially as house uniforms. According to the brand, the creative director went against the set norm of secondary school uniform to create pieces that respects the gingham heritage (read more here).

Alt has a color palette that is quite common now among millennials (I stand corrected though). According to the brand, Alt is an interpretation of culturally inspired high fashion fusing the cool Alté vibe (read more here)

Here are my favorite looks from the ATAFO collection:

HOUSE OF KAYA

Modest? Check!

Functional? Check!

Suitable for all? Check!

House of Kaya collection featured really flowy dresses in warm and cool tones that I totally see myself wearing (when my money arrives).

Here are some of my favorite looks from the runway:

PHOTO CREDIT: KOLA OSHALUSI (INSIGNA)

A M A K A

Leave a comment